Founders of the New Haven Colony


The object of the Founders of the New Haven Colony shall be to honor the memory of the Founders of the New Haven Colony; by the encouragement of historical and genealogical research in relation to the founders of New Haven and the publication of the results; to inspire patriotism, and to enhance fellowship among those of similar interests.

The membership of this society shall be limited to direct lineal descendants, male and female, of the founders of the New Haven Colony. A founder of the New Haven Colony is defined as one of the free planters who assented to the Fundamental Agreement of the New Haven Colony on June 4, 1639 and are listed below:

William Andrews
Richard Beckley
John Benham
Jarvis Boykin
William Browning
John Budd
John Chapmen
John Charles
Ezekiel Cheever
James Clark
John Clarke
John Cogswell
John Cooper
Jasper Crane
John Davenport
Jeremiah Dixion
Samuel Eaton
Theophilus Eaton
Nicholas Elsey
Timothy Ford
Thomas Fugill
Matthew Gilbert
Francis Hall
Matthias Hitchcock
Andrew Hull
Thomas Jeffries
William Ives
Thomas Kimberley
Benjamin Ling
Richard Malbon
Andrew Messenger
John Moss(Morse)
Matthew Moulthrop
Francis Newman
Robert Newman
Richard Osborne
Edward Patteson
John Peacock
Richard Perry
John Ponderson
William Potter
William Preston
John Reader(Reeder)
Robert Seeley
George Smith
William Thorpe
Nathaniel Turner
William Tuttle
George Ward
Lawrence Ward
Samuel Whitehead
Edward Wigglesworth
Mr. Wilkes
Thomas Yale